Giving pocket money to children is very common in many countries. To what extend do you agree and disagree?

In many parts of the world, younsters receive money from their family members as a pocket money. Whether it is given monthly or daily basis, I believe that this practice will be fruitful in the future for these children.

To start with, first and foremost advantage of the pocket money is that children will understand the budgeting aspect from it. With a limited amount of money to spend, they will learn how they have to manage their finances from an early age. For example, if a child gets 100 rupees a day from their parents, with time he will not only start spending wisely but also may save some money from it, utilizing for the future. In contrast, if they will not provided with these finances, it is inevitable to envisage that they will be naïve in terms of their expenditure. Therefore, in future, when they will start earning, managing finances will be a facile task for them.

In addition to learning budget finances, children will also comprehend the value of money. This is paramount because of peer pressure, nowadays, children can waste money on many unwanted items. Watching friends purchasing latest video games, for example, may tempt the children to have same games. However, due to controlled money, if they refrain themselves from that period; soon they will realize that it would be a waste of money, as such games entertain just for a limited period. As a result, purchasing behavior of children will improve and they will avoid poor habits of buying useless items.

In conclusion, it is undeniably advantageous for young childrens to have pocket money, which not only improve their budgeting skills but also enhance their buying habits.