An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

It is indisputable that the internet has transformed every aspect of our life and this has been both advantageous and disadvantageous in many ways. Similarly, in the last few years e-shopping has become the trend. This essay will give an outline about the pros and cons for the seller and buyer of shopping online.

First and foremost, when a person wants to buy a product, he can browse for what he wants from anywhere. This means there will be no need of commutation and a lot of time will be saved by the customer. Furthermore, in case we want to gift our beloved ones, purchasing through internet and delivering it to their preferable address seems to be a convenient way, than couriering through mail. Moreover from the companies’ point of view, there will be no necessity of establishing retail outlets or employing sales staff, which will serve as major cost-cutting and also they can easily keep track of the competitors’ price for the product and decide theirs’ accordingly.

However, the main drawback for the individual is that he can never be sure about the quality of the product. For instance, when the customer surfs for a shirt; the color, texture and size may be different from what he had expected. Even more, the buyers should also be cautious about the security issues related to the web, as there are chances of hacking their website, which may become a doom to their business. Additionally, it will be a tedious task to win the purchasers’ trust as there will be hardly any physical meeting with the customer.

In a nutshell, as in case of any advancement of technology, even online shopping has its own edges and downsides and it is finally up to the customer which method of shopping they prefer.