Increasing numbers of students are going to university instead of working after high school Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who do this

Nowadays, many students prefer to pursue their studies after their schooling than working. While specialization in the field and high paid jobs are the benefits of this trend, however, they might taste the employment at their later stage of life due to this trend.

One of the benefits of continuing education after schooling is that one can get specialization in their field. This is because universities curriculum are generally designed to focus on one area only. Take doctorate degree for example, where professors only teach biology subjects to the students to enhance their medical skills and they don’t waste their time by teaching them chemistry and other subjects. Thus, to gain a detailed knowledge of any area, university education can be beneficial.

Another positive might be the increase in income after territory study. Many companies usually have income criteria based on the qualification of a candidate. Due to this, they generally pay high remuneration to those who have finished their college degree. A good illustration of this Cognizant, a well-known IT firm. They have fixed packages for the new joiners based on their educational backgrounds. As a result, in order to amplify the salary bracket, many students choose higher education over jobs.

On the other hand, there are some negatives are also associated with higher studies. Firstly, after spending more time with books in universities, students generally taste employment very late. For example, a student who commences his working-life after schooling can have more experience in his field than those who start their career after further studies. As a result, the working experience of both the students will remain different lifelong. So, students after schooling often get a job early than the higher students.

In conclusion, although detailed knowledge and high remuneration are the benefits of pursuing higher education, students might taste employment quite late if they continue their study.