International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is evident that globalization has made it possible to travel across the world conveniently and comfortably which encourages people to explore and visit the novel destinations. In my opinion, I believe that this trend proved negative for the local communities as well as the environment inspite of the advantage of this to the economy of a nation.

Admittedly, travel industry plays a vital role in the growth of the country's economy. Some countries such as Thailand, Singapore and Malaysia largely depends on the tourism sector because it contributes around 30% of the Gross Domestic Product (GDP). Millions of people across the world visit these tourist spots annually, and they spend a lot of money to buy tickets, stay in hotels and shopping in the local popular markets which ultimately lead to the inflow of international capital to the local entrepreneurship & employment generation. This is also associated with international investments and infrastructure development.

Despite this, it has influenced the lives of regional dwellers and the biosphere reserves of the place badly. The natural ecosystem of the place gets disturbed when more and more people interfere in it. To illustrate it with an example, recently Kedarnath in India was heavily flooded due to the deforestation caused by builders and governments to construct hotels ad roads in hilly areas, and there was approximate loss of 5000 lives. Apart from this, indigenous society has to suffer a lot due to the scarcity of available resources for them. Shimla, for instance, in northern India faces shortage of water for local inhabitants as most of the water is being used by hotels and restaurants.

In conclusion, inspite of the fact that the financial position of the country's economy gets strengthened with the tourism sector, but it has detrimental effects on the local lives and ecosystem.