The Internet provides us with information about life and cultures of different countries, and some people say it is not necessary to visit these countries to learn about them. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

The Internet provides us with information about the life and cultures of different countries, and some people say it is not necessary to visit these countries to learn about them. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Nowadays, the advent of new technologies has changed the information environment of human beings, by making updated data from all around the world accessible for everyone. This change makes some experts to suggest that instead of traveling to a new country, an individual could absorb all the information needed, by connecting to the internet. However, I totally disagree with this suggestion, and in this essay, I will explain the reasons behind my opinion.

First of all, traveling could not be completely replaced, since information on the internet, are sometimes biased. Generally, media are funded by governments and parties, which are following their political agendas. Therefore, one could not trust the contradicted information about a place, unless travels there. More importantly, not all the details could be transmitted through the internet. When people travel, they have an opportunity to talk to residents of a new place, observe their behaviors, and eat their foods. None of this first-handed information accessible through the web. Finally, while pictures of great monuments or museums are widely available on the internet, they are still the main attractions for tourists, when they are visiting a new city or country.

Admittedly, the Internet instead of traveling would be a practical method; Not only it saves time since traveling is time-consuming and workforces have only limited vacation time, but also it is helpful from the financial perspective, with all the high-cost of traveling. However, it seems simplistic to consider the idea that some pictures and articles, could replace the experience of being in the new place.

In conclusion, while the benefits of the internet to gather information about a new culture and place, is undeniable, it could not replace the traveling, as the first-handed source of information. It is due to the fact that media are biased, and cultural aspects of traveling are not transmittable.