It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every person has different preferences; some enjoy reading books, whereas, others relish watching television to get knowledge of the same subject. Choice of medium of information sourcing differs from one human being to another. Now, which source is better than other? This conundrum is deliberated in the essay below.

Some people, who read often, exhibit better imagination and demonstrate good language skills. Derek O Brien, a famous quiz master, who is also an avid reader showcases his excellent linguistic talents while hosting his quiz shows. J.K Rowling, author of Harry Potter, portrays intriguing and surreal plots of her writings and takes the reader to another world of wizards and magicians. Children and young people reading these books develop great deal of imagination along with building good vocabulary skills. Many a times, English teachers at school and university insist students to inculcate reading habits from young age so that they develop a good thought process and develop speaking skills.

However, not everyone enjoys reading books in their leisure time. Some people like watching programmes on space or travel on Discovery Channel and can develop a creative perspective. Viewing special editions BBC programmes can help students to learn new words and their pronunciations. It is discovered since ancient times, humans need coach to navigate their learning. Also, acquiring creative imagination and verbal skills via watching television is more entertaining than immersing yourself under piles of books. Sometimes, same knowledge is provided by TV in a concise and structured way.

Based on aforesaid discussion, to judge whether one way of developing imagination and language skill is better than another is difficult. It depends on one’s knack and habits which means suits him better.