It has been said that the world is becoming a global village in which there are no boundaries to trade and communication. Do the benefits of globalisation outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that globalization is becoming increasingly vehement that make all of the nations over the world mutually closer than ever. While I accept that this trend could bring societies about some negative impacts, I believe that it is more likely to be a positive tendency.

On the one hand, globalization could be not beneficial for societies in some ways. Firstly, local employees might be exploited by foreign companies looking for a cheap labour in less developed countries. They tend to hire manual labour with unclear terms and conditions of contracts, these workers would be under a pressure of long shift and threat of unsafe environment. Secondly, this trend of development could extremely contribute to creating more waste and pollution. Many developing nations are struggling against factories which are the poor quality of waste processing system as a result of a lack of control over foreign investment.

However, I would argue that above drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits. People now could have access to global brands easily, regardless of their place of living, because trading and manufacturing are globalized. Multi – national companies could do business across the world, their products could be more competitive with a lower price on invested market because of using local labor and materials. The rise in foreign investment can help to reduce the unemployment rate, in turn poverty and social problems. Furthermore, globalization can strengthen political relationships. A strong connection of economy in which they are mutually beneficial, two nations could become more peaceful and friendly in their policy to other.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of globalization are more vital than the possible downside.