It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People believe that it is imperative that children have the knowledge to differ between right and wrong from an early age and this can be achieved by imposing punishment when they do something wrong. I personally disagree with this opinion and believe this has more negative impacts then positive once.

Punishment were considered as an effective method to set children on the right path but the impacts of these word detrimental in many cases. In old times, children were punished heavily for their wrongdoings, like beaten with a stick, standing for hours under the scorching heat of the Sun, or being locked in a dark room. These punishments had lingering phobias which could be seen to emerge at certain stage of of their lives like children losing interest or focus on studies, bullying other children in a similar manner,etc. In many cases, these scenarios often go unnoticed and may later result in them becoming adults with abusive nature.

However, a certain degree of punishments needs to be put in place, in a way that does not impact the development of a child. Instead the child will be able to realise their mistakes and attempt to rectify them. The teachers could include a subject which emphasizes what is good and what is bad. In addition, school could place points on good behaviours and the student with most points will be acknowledged and rewarded. The students with negative points can be assigned detention in the form of cleaning work they can realise how difficult work can be. On the other hand, parents could teach the children the bad effects that a bad behaviour can have. In addition, they can become models for their children by demonstrating the good behaviours themselves.

To sum up, I would like to reiterate that punishment is not the most effective method for the children and there are other methods that could be implemented.