It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Undoubtedly, Understanding the analogy between good and bad things are of significant and inevitable importance in the child’ early stage of life. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, although arguments can also be made against the idea. In this essay, the debate will be discussed, and will be given a concluding view.

On the one hand, proponents who support the idea of using penalty as a method of teaching to help child understand the dissimilarity between ethical and unethical activities cite various benefits, it can bring to the children. Firstly, Penalty can facilitate some fear in the mind of the children especially the young children while it can help to keep them away from the unethical and immoral activities. Secondly, Fear brings a radical change in the neurological brain of the children, by making them more disciplined and well-behaved. In addition to this, it can also enhance and improve not only their academic life but can create plethora of job opportunities for them. For instance, a study made by the WEF shows that 50% of the children who are self-disciplined and time-bound achieve a great deal of success instead of the ones who do not possess these skills.

On the other hand, opponents point out their view that frequent punishments can produce a catastrophic effect on the life of the kid which can make them more reluctant and hostile to the circumstances. For instance, in school if the teacher penalises a child for any wrong doing, then it not only erodes the self-esteem of that pupil but also increases the likelihood of his committing a suicide. Secondly, If the punishments did not occur in a well-behaved and controlled environment than it can damage the relationship between guardians or teacher and children.

Overall, it seems reasonable to carry out penalty on kinds under the guidance and supervision of either parents or teacher while helping children to elucidate in brief the dissimilarity between good and bad activities.