It is inevitable that as technology advances, traditional cultures will be lost. It seems that we cannot have these two things together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology is rapidly growing in popularity. Some culturologists think that it can be fatal to culture., but some technophiles are opposed to them and say that they are coexisting without problems these days. In this essay, I agree that they both can live in harmony.

Let us start with the reasons why some cultural scientists claim that technology can completely destroy culture. The first reason is associated with the substantial shift in attention from cultural development to technology. For example, the majority of young spend much time on video games and Internet surfing on their smartphones, which they had better devote to learning about their national customs and traditions. Another reason is related to globalisation promoted through technology. In light of technological growth, cultural unification is spreading faster and therefore displacing culture in communities. Consequently, after the analysis of these arguments, it is clear that owning to technology, culture might eventually become obsolete and get out of use.

Nevertheless, some technology supporters argue that culture and technology can go together well. They justify their point of view with the following reasoning. Firstly, technology makes cultural education more interesting. For instance, there are many cultural documentaries available on the Youtube, which present tradition animated. As a result, a growing number of children are willing to learn more about their nations and national features with interest and in mother tongue. Secondly, technology hardly interconnects with traditions. Since there are few overlaps between these two aspects of life, they cannot negatively affect each other. Thereby, after the consideration of these argumentations, it is evident that contemporary advancements in technology can be in peace with culture in the modern world.

In conclusions, even though some culturologists believe that technology might have a detrimental impact on culture, I think that they can get along and even successfully complement one another.