It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with the situation?

It is irrefutable that there has been a growth in the juvenile crime rate in the recent days. Though some people may argue that it has been contributed by the violence in media, I believe that it is contributed by the change in the entire lifestyle of the society. This essay will discuss two paramount arguments supporting this view and probable ways to handle the situation.

First and foremost, in the last few decades the entire family structure has undergone a drastic change. For instance, because of the financial necessities, both the parents are required to work and hence, they spend a very less time with their adolescent children. This leaves them without proper guidance and when they make wrong decisions, there is no one to mentor them. Furthermore, we cannot deny that, there is more exposure to youngsters nowadays. This is caused by the advancement in technology that can bring the whole world to our desk. But, the downside of this is that, sometimes, juveniles are not aware of what is moral and what is not.

These problems can be overcome only by the combined effort of the parents and the teachers. For example, parents should spend more time with their children and guide them in how their difficult situations should be handled. Additionally, proper counselling should be provided by the mentors at school to youngsters, who go astray and also, though we cannot shun youth from enjoying the benefits of technology, we should teach them assess the morality of what is presented to them.

In a nutshell, our transformed way of life along with the unguided exposure to undesirable contents is the major contributor to the increase in juvenile crime-rate and this can be solved through prompt direction from the elders.