It is suggested that everyone wants to have a car, a television and a fridge. Do disadvantages of this development for society outweigh advantages?

In Modern era electronic equipment and means of transportation are considered to be basic necessities of life.A vast majority of population desires to have these in their lives. I believe benefits of this development out number drawbacks.

To begin with positive aspects, firstly, electronic products such as televisions, refrigerators and vehicles are an integral part of life nowadays. For instance, Television is a source of information and favorite pass time for many people. Secondly, to stay in touch with current affairs and watch movies, dramas and talk shows in leisure public prefer to have television at home. Additionally, some folks feel uncomfortable on public transport and give precedence to self-owned vehicles over buses, trams and trains. Moreover, having own transport provide people an edge as they are not dependent on a schedule of city transport and traveling to remote areas could be possible as well.

On the other side of the coin, few negative aspects aspect should also be considered. Since the invention of electrical appliances like television,radio and computers people have become sluggish. Instead of outdoor activities, in free time they choose to stay home and watch their favorite shows. With such habits in a society, people might forget the social values and norms. In addition to that, slothful attitude, especially of a juvenile will prove to be dreadful and without sports activities, they are more prone to diseases. Similarly with increasing number of cars environment will become vulnerable to pollution and smoke emitted from a vehicle is evidently a health hazard.

To recapitulate, I consider electronic products and vehicles are vital components of modern time. These necessities lessen the workload from lives of people and that time could be spent on other productive activities.