A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Tourism plays a significant role in preserving and maintaining historical and traditional value of a country. As per the stated notion, it serves as a major source of generating revenue in most places. Although, there are concerns regarding environmental damage and cultural exchange, I believe the advantages far outnumber the disadvantages.

First of all, influx of tourists in developing countries can cause environmental issues. To explain this further, lots of travellers visiting the monuments and historical places each day ruins the uniqueness and crowded places often cause damage with risks like erosion, pollution and the loss of natural habitats. However, with proper management and regulations, this problem can be resolved. To cite an example, building of enough hotels and arrangement of transports in popular tourist sites have paved the way in tackling limited facilities to a large extent. Not to mention, tourism provides country a source of income in developing infrastructure, healthcare facilities as well as educational funds. Also, it provides job opportunities to local people providing sightseers a guided tour, hospitality and entertainment as well.

Secondly, cultural exchange is the principle problem caused by tourism. To simplify, local people are more likely to be influenced by western culture in terms of language as well as modern lifestyle. For instance, dominating nature of western culture seems to underestimate one's own traditional and cultural values. People residing in local area are lured by foreign food, clothes and intimate foreign language. Thus, forgetting one's own traditions and customs. Despite of the above fact, mental horizon gets broadened when a person comes in contact with different language and culture. As a result of exploring outer world, people gain profound knowledge and develops understanding and bridging the gap between different nations.

To conclude, ensuring proper management and regulation helps in maintaining and preserving tourist sites can reduce damage to environment. In addition, exchange of foreign language and culture is far more beneficial and should be up to a certain extent provided that one should value his own gold tradition completely.