In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Banning plastic bags as an approach to prevent environmental degradation and pollution is a controversial issue. I completely agree with this issue because plastic bags have harmful effects on humans and animals and banning the use of them would be perfectly beneficial. This essay is going to support this idea in details and give some more specific examples.

One of the most important pros of banning plastic bags could be reducing litter and pollution. Plastic bags often contain polyethylene and cannot biodegrade which means they remain forever. It means that if they are not recycled or disposed of properly, they become permanent pollution like commonly see alongside the roads or floating in the water. In addition, these plastic bags litter are often mistaken for food by animals such as marine or birds. This endangered animals by choking, poisoning or entanglement which can result in death. Thus, putting a halt to plastic bags decline plastic pollution and litter and wildlife threat posing.

Furthermore, other disadvantages of banning plastic bag could be referring to prevalent illegal plastic usage. In fact, another negative point of banning plastic bags could be that millions of people are trying to use plastic illegally and this causes double costs for governments. One for imposing laws for illegal plastic use prevention and the other for litter plastic clean-up. This budget could spend on more efficient purposes such as education improvements issues or poverty eradication plans. Hence, forbidding the plastic bags can increase costs for nations and reduce the saving budgets.

To conclude, reducing the litter and plastic pollution and impact on wildlife could be some of the benefits of banning the plastic bags. I completely agree that countries and governments put a halt to plastic ban use in order to prevent environmental pollution and protect wildlife plus bringing some economic benefits.