In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In some countries banning plastic bags is a policy in order to prevent environmental degradation and pollution. I partially agree with prohibiting plastic bag due to the fact that plastics have enormous harmful effects on humans' and animals' life but it might be other ways than prohibiting. This essay is going to mention some of the banning advantages and suggests other solutions.

One of the most important reasons that make the banning plastic bags and efficient policy could be that it leads to reduce negative impacts on wildlife and environment. Plastic bags often contain polyethylene and cannot biodegrade. It means that if they are not recycled or disposed of properly, they become permanent pollution like commonly see alongside the roads or floating in the water. In addition, plastic bags endangered animals because they are often mistaken for food by animals such as marine or birds so it might cause choking or poisoning which can result in death. Thus, putting a halt to plastic bags not only decline plastic pollution and litter but also protect wildlife.

Otherwise, there are several other solutions instead of banning which could be more efficient. One possible solution could be changing in consumers' behavior. Most of the time people often use their plastic shopping bags just for one time and then threw it away. This wrong behavior wastes extremely much amount of energy and money. It is obvious that if people were asked to assist collaboratively in recycling process not only the environmental pollution plunged but the convenient use of these bags will continue.

To conclude, reducing the litter and plastic pollution and impact on wildlife could be some of the benefits of banning the plastic bags. I completely agree that countries and governments put a halt to plastic ban in order to prevent environmental pollution and protect wildlife plus prevent some unnecessary expenditure.