Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce the crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

It is indisputable that alcohol plays a key role as a major contributor to the rising crime rate. In my opinion, official forbiddance of alcohol will definitely have a significant outcome in curbing felony. This essay will discuss an argument supporting this view and the other probable actions to subside crimes induced by alcohol.

First and foremost, alcohol prohibition has already been experimented in certain states of India and has been found to be effective. For instance, in the Indian state, Bihar, the crime rate has reduced by 27% after the ban of alcohol. This is because, countless crimes happen owing to the aggravation and irrational behavior induced by alcohol. When the availability of liquor is curtailed, people will be sober and hence will make levelheaded decisions and will not pursue illegal activities impulsively. Therefore, liquor restriction is an efficient proposal to control violation of law.

Over and above, rehabilitation centers for addicts can be established in different regions, to ensure that the delinquents do not become repeat offenders. Moreover, the social norm about drinking has to be changed through awareness programs. This is because, a considerable number of people, start as social drinkers; deteriorate and give in to alcoholism. Hence, the peer pressure should be nipped in the bud. This will further serve as a step in solving alcohol abuse and in turn as a precaution to prevent crime.

In a nutshell, reformation centers and awareness programs will be instrumental in bringing a change in the social outlook about alcohol and in turn in undermining the crime rate. Meanwhile, alcohol prohibition will aid in reducing the occurrence of crime instantaneously.