Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Nowadays, the number of offenders who commit a crime is on the increase. It is obvious that the main causes for committing a crime are poverty, unemployment and lack of education. Governments should think up ideas to tackle this problem by taking measures such as providing vocational trainings or rehabilitating programs.

There are several reasons that are causing crime in each society. In many cases the criminals re-offend a crime because they have no other way for making a living. In addition, criminal record makes finding a job more difficult. Moreover, offenders mix with other prisoners in the prison, who have negative effects and can make the situation worse. As an example, a prisoner who gets into the jail because of drug dealing can motivates a thief to test some kinds of drugs to be more relax in the prison.

Some measures should be taken by the governments and the offenders’ family and friends to tackle this problem. Firstly, prisons should provide skills, education and vocational training which can be beneficial for the prisoners to find job after they release. Secondly, Community service is another way to reform offenders and it can make them more useful for the society. For instance, by cleaning public areas or talking to schools. Lastly, Family and friends should help them with accommodation and work.

To conclude, lack of welfare and education in the society will cause different types of crimes and criminals are in danger of temptation to re-offend so governments and relatives should provide facilities that help the offenders to find a job and overcome the difficulties after they release.