Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract local people to visit these places?

Historical sites in Petra in Jordan are annually visited by millions of international visitors. many foreign tourists flock around the Rose city to marvel the narrow canyon, which has temples and tombs dating back 5th century.It is noted by a recent survey done by Department of tourism of United States that local people are relatively less interested in visiting these places compared to the foreign visitors.

Generally, one would see that local people are not intrigued by the archaeological findings of the place vis-à-vis a traveler from a different place.People tend to see the site regularly en-route their workplace, such that, the places loses its unique charm to the local residents of the place.For example, many residents of Mumbai may not value the iconic structure of Gateway of India, an arch-monument constructed to commemorate the landing of first British royalty in India in 1911.Also, the Tourism Ministry of the country does not give much information to citizens as much they include in the information brochures circulated to people on tour.Hence, it is obvious that the attractiveness of the museums and

In order to encourage the local people to visit museums and historical sites, the government bodies should include regional educational curriculum of children.This will enable the children, parents and teachers of the students be acquainted with the facts of such special attraction.Further, local festivals could be hosted in the place to create awareness among the residents.Every year, Kala Ghoda arts festival, Mumbai’s biggest multidisciplinary cultural event brings to life the arts district of Kala Ghoda in South Mumbai.This festival is hosted in backdrop of many of the city's heritage buildings and prominent art galleries.Also, local tours could be arranged by the local Municipal authorities to emphasis the importance of the place.

To conclude, to engage the local population, it is imperative for the Government Authorities to make them aware and provide people with experience aligned to their interest.