Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think that advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Some museums have an admission charge while some do not. In my opinion, the drawbacks of an entrance fee are eclipsed by its benefits in the sense that the income will be ploughed back into operations and development of the museum.

A major disadvantage of an admission fee is the possibility of reducing the number of visitors. Museums house exhibitions and artefacts of great educational historical value. If the chief aim of a museum is to introduce the local community, admission should be free to public and visitors. Take some folk museums in Hong Kong, which preserve historic relics and display folk customs, for example. Admission to these folk museums, which are often monuments, is free of charge. If they had charged an entrance fee, many might have turned to other activities.

Granted, an entrance fee might have a negative effect on admission figures, but an income is favorable to museum in terms of operation. Museums feature exhibitions at times, and this could not have been done without a sum of money expended on hiring professionals and buying equipment. The Hong Kong Space Museum, for instance, has monthly exhibition of different issues and professional docents are employed to take visitors on a guided tour around the museum. this example speaks volumes about how a reasonable admission charge is advantageous to the operation of a museum.

In conclusion, the disadvantage of an admission fee are overshadowed by the benefits accruing from a stable source of income. Therefore, having weighed up all pros and cons, I am convinced that museum should charge an entrance fee for the sake of operation and development.