Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

Every government in the world protects its old buildings by spending so much of its man power and wealth. In this essay we will examine the importance of preserving ancient structures and if it is a hindrance for the development of the society.

We have to conserve antique buildings, as each construction has a conviction associated with it. For instance, the Eiffel tower was built to commemorate the centennial of the French revolution and to demonstrate the industrial power of France to the world. Moreover, they help us understand the way of living in the past and assist us in evolving into a utopian society. Let us take the ancient temples in India with many inscriptions about the laws that governed them and about the method of construction of the magnificent erections. By providing an insight into our ancestor’s society through the inscriptions, they help us in comprehending the ancient way of life and thereby provide us an opportunity to rectify our mistakes.

People may have the opinion that, these monuments stand in the way of progress by occupying the much needed space and also that the money involved in this should be used in more pressing issues. However, we have to realize that, countless of such buildings have been renovated and are used as hotels and government offices. They also serve as a major tourist attraction and by that generate revenue to the nation. This income can be used for the betterment of the country. Therefore, ancient buildings aid us in progress.

To sum things up, in my perspective, age-old monuments are important as they are rich in values and knowledge, which will lead us to form an ideal society and also, they can be utilized as a source of income, which in turn can be disbursed for the advancement of humanity.