Many people are doing their shopping on the internet nowadays. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of shopping online.

Online shopping is emerging as one of the most popular way of shopping. Most people prefer to purchase things from the comforts of their home via the internet. This essay will delve in the benefits and drawbacks of online shopping before giving a personal opinion.

On one hand, online shopping has become a boon for customers due to its several advantages. People can easily visit the site from their devices such as smartphone, tablets or computer which not only saves the time to commute but also allows easy accessibility either from home or workplace. Consequently, people with jobs or disabilities can avail the services or products conveniently. Furthermore, people can compare prices between multiple sites or pages with a few clicks.

However, shopping from the internet has some drawbacks as well. Products are more expensive online, especially imported ones, cost well over three times the actual price. It is also difficult to purchase food items as the expiry day can be easily tampered with. For example I once purchased meat from Bengal meat and when the item arrived I found the meat was dry and old. When complained the customer support claimed that fresh meat was sent out and that replacement was not possible. Consequently, the meat had to be throw away as it did not seem fit to be edible. Additionally, the reviews found online for a product may be rigged by the page owners themselves.

To conclude, though shopping from the internet is a booming sector which provides people with the convenience of spot on purchase but it also has some drawbacks that people need to be aware of to experience better services.