Many people are working longer hours Why is this happening What problems can this cause to people

In recent years, it is a popular trend that employees tend to work overtime at the workplace or a number of workers even need to do their tasks at home. This tendency might be the result of numerous reasons, and it apparently leads to both adverse impacts on labourers.

First and foremost, numerous employees extend their working duration as the races among businesses are more and more competitive. When the market has witnessed the outburst in the number of new companies and the demand of consumers has risen significantly, employers put a huge pressure on their workers to fulfil the market needs and catch up with their rivals. For example, there is a well-known line of numbers among Chinese labourers, which is mentioned as “996”, it means working from 9am to 9pm, 6 days per week. This slogan indicates clearly and fully the constraint that workers have to deal with, and it has been overpopular that almost every labourer accepts it and dedicates all their time and effort to the employers without complaining.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that the longer working hours are, the more negative consequences people might face. Initially, health problems, such as back pain, lack of sleep or stress will increase noticeably if workers put no effort on exercise or other physical activities. Another concern which may need to be considered deliberately is damages to surrounding relationships with others. For example, as employees consume almost all time at the workplace, they will feel exhausted and cannot take after their family members thoughtfully, or some couples broke up because they have no time for the other.

To summarise, human beings must work to earn money for living, but there are still a number of gruelling working schedules. As a result, numerous drawbacks and negative long-term consequences have been witnessed.