Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

In recent epoch, people have been showing more interest in traveling to foreign places. due to this phenomenon, the indigenous culture and habitat seem to be in danger. However, In my opinion, the merits of international tourism far weigh its demerits.

To begin with, the benefits of international tourism are many. The foremost advantage is it broadens the scope of employment for the local people. In other words, the travel, hospitality, and transport sectors are benefitted enormously. Consequently, it prospers the economy of the host country by fostering business and employment. For instance, the prosperity of countries like Dubai, Egypt, and Thailand is a manifestation of welcoming tourists from different countries.

Another reason that quotes international tourism to be beneficial is it helps the people to understand and admire other countries cultures and traditions. Admittedly, it develops an amicable relationship among the people of various ethnic backgrounds. As a result, foreign visits make people more tolerant of the diversified way of living, which indeed is a step towards global peace and harmony.

On the other hand, it can be well argued that local culture is affected due to cross border tourists activities. The tourist spoils the environment to make their itinerary. For example, water sports in Thailand to entertain the tourists disturbs the sea life and causes environmental pollution. Sometimes, the travelers are seen dumping waste anywhere spoiling the scenic beauty of the place. Moreover, the tourists' interaction often takes away the originality of the host country. The ethnic dish is tampered to match the taste of foreign customers and local languages are given less importance due to monetary benefits associated with learning a foreign language to serve the clients. Thus, to some extent, it is true that international tourism can spoil the culture and environment of the nation.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that although international tourism has a small impact on culture; at the same time, it has ample of benefits. The culture can be preserved with little efforts of local people and it does not require to ban the international tourists exploring the country, which boosts the countries economy and binds the people to live in a diversified culture. Hence, without qualms, the advantages of international tourism outweigh its disadvantages.