Many people spend a lot of money on clothes, haricuts and beauty products to enhance their appearance. Some feel it is a good way while others feel that there are better ways to spend money.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The new millennium has ushered mankind to the ever increasing need of maintaining one`s image. It seems easier to people to get the same by purchasing apparels and cosmetics. It has become a controversial issue whether this spending is righteous or not.

Masses choosing to spend lavishly on their looks support their reason claiming that by following latest fashion trends, they gain the much-needed confidence to deal in their day to day life. It not only boosts their morale but also brings feel good factor. Youngsters also feel proud by becoming fashion icons for others. It helps matured ones as a change in hairdo and usage of beauty products can make them look younger. Besides, it has often been witnessed that the celebrities, who are also the role model of present generation, encourage people to go for such expenditures being ambassadors of those products.

On the contrary, the opponents criticize this newly acquired purchasing power of the elites, since, this has further widened the gap between the rich and the poor. International brands like Armani, Gucci, Prado and so on have found a market even in poor economics where these already well-resourced names are gaining in contrast to the heavy loses being suffered by local industry. However, people are unable to save enough money for their future use due to their extravagant lifestyles. Consequently, most of the people spending hefty amounts on their looks are more prone to face financial difficulties.

I believe that such expenses are required but only to a certain extent. In order to be in tune with changing times, these spending have become essential. A person can also choose wisely and yet save at the same time. No doubt clothing and hairstyles are helpful in building confidence, being up to date with the latest happenings in professional as we as personal life can also do the needful. Expenditure made on health such as joining gyms or purchasing exercise equipment is a more prudent approach, for it would pay more in the long run.

To conclude, although both sides have strong reasons, a balanced perspective is required to make the most of it.