Many people these days have computer, laptops, telephones at their home for work. Do you think, working from home has more advantages or disadvantages? Give reasons.

Nowadays, work from home trend has changed the culture of many offices. However, despite not interaction with colleagues and real-working environment, I still believe that the benefits we gain from this trend outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, I concede that by doing work from home, people can’t get the real working environment. In offices, employees generally have allocated seats or cabins, where they do all of their work. It could be argued that they usually finish their work much quicker at offices than homes due to less or no distractions. Another downside is the response time of any question. Employees can take help from their fellow-mates in no time if they are seating together in the office, whereas they must set-up a meeting to get the answer to any query if doing work from home. Hence, this working from home trend can hamper the productivity of working professionals.

However, although the downsides of working from home are a real concern, I feel that there are more reasons for us to support this culture. Firstly, people can spend more time with their family by doing work from home. Taking care of children can also be done by themselves. A good illustration of this is Google, where around 60% of employees do work from home for the wellbeing of their children. Moreover, people can keep themselves away from the traffic by adapting working from home culture as the roads generally get overcrowded during peak hours. So, employees can use their time more productively by staying at home. Thus, working from home trend can be advantageous for employees as they can spend more time with their family and avoid road traffic.

In conclusion, although I admit that people can’t meet face to face with their colleagues if they do work from home, they can spend more time with their family and can do more work by staying at home. Therefore, I agree that working from home has more advantages than disadvantages.