In many places ,prisons are overcrowded and expensive for governments to maintain.Yet, when offenders are released ,they end up back in prison a short while later.Does prison work ?Should lawbreakers be rehabilitated or punished?

Imprisonment is one of the most common forms of punishment in several countries. However effective is this system, a high percentage of prisoner’s relapse into crime once they are released into the community. Criminals are imprisoned again, and the cycle continues forever. In my view, sentencing criminals to time in prison fails in most cases.

Firstly, offenders enjoy a comfortable life in prisons. Many of them have access to luxuries life such as watching televisions, using mobile phones, free internet and enjoying sport facilities etc. In other words, instead of being a place where lawbreakers should learn a life lesson, prisons become holiday camps. If the penal system really expects prisons to act, they should have some legislative terms as per their criminal acts.

Secondly, I do not accept that all offenders need to be separated from society. Take pickpockets and shoplifters as examples. Keeping these petty criminals in the same cells as rapists, murderers or violent criminals worsens the situation. This is because after serving their time in prisons, juvenile and minor offenders often turn into habitual and professional criminals. Sadly, governments and tax payers must bear the cost of keeping these criminals in jails. I think punishing them through fines, community service or other non-custodial means etc. is a better option.

Conclusion, I understand that criminals who pose a threat to society cannot be allowed to roam freely. For such people, imprisonment is necessary. But, for other offences prison is not the answer. In my view, the severity of the crime committed should be taken into consideration before deciding on the punishment.