Many sports players advertised in sports products.Do you think advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

From the dawn of invention of media, advertisements have become one of the prominent interfaces to promote products, nowadays many sport product companies are using sportsmen as their face of advertising. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this aspect and conclude.

One main factor that can put forward as a prime benefit of using athletes in publicizing the sports product is expanding the brand value. Players in international sports have a great fan following. Hence, they can be used not only as an ambassador for the firm but also as a source of marketing. It is said that the average sales had gone up by 78% when Sina Nehwal took Yonex shuttle bats to promote. It is also exemplified in the growing number of people using Reebok sports brand in India after Virat Kohli branding it. In brief, it is evident that the sportsperson can increase the sports product brand value in countries. Another point worth considering is it can help in getting other sports into countries. Some games are limited to some countries, so for gaining an adequate amount of market sport product companies uses famous sportspersons to promote the product in their countries. Sports like Cricket which is an English game is quite popular in many of Asian countries, it is said that the famous Brand Nike is prompting Cricket in Canada by advertising Sachin Tendulkar posters and television, also they have recently organized an ice cricket to promote their brand.

On the other hand, although this process has an adequate amount of advantages there are some disadvantages. Some people only work for money and they can be a brand face for anything. One example is that in recent International Twenty-Twenty cricket matches some cricketers are used for promoting a sport-drink which had a high amount of doping bases and they have been paid a considerable amount for promoting this product, this resulted in 158 people hospitalized by consuming that drink. So it is clear that advertising by a sports person without knowing about the product has some negative implications

In conclusion, many sports brands are using athletes to promote their products. While people buy these products without having a second thought, it promotes new sports and helps in the expansion of the product market. Despite the minor disadvantage, the benefit of using a player in promoting a sports product has more advantages