In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Online communications in offices are becoming more popular than face to face meetings, as there are more advantages to this method of communication. This essay will delve into the benefits and drawbacks before suggesting some remedies and finally giving a personal opinion.

To begin with, there are several advantages associated with the online form of communication. Firstly, it is highly convenient to attend meetings online as staff members do not need to move to another place. Consequently, tasks are easily distributed within the team in the shortest time. For instance meeting minutes can be prepared along with the meeting htereby covering two tasks at once. Secondly, not all the members attending a meeting are required to provide a response at the same time. Therefore, those not involved in the meeting can continue on their assigned work until their turn arrives. In physical meetings attendants are required to listen to every part of the discussion even those that are not related to their work thereby disrupting effective productive hours.

However, there are some drawbacks to these form of communication. It would be difficult to assess if the concerned person is actually following the meeting or is distracted in doing another task. In addition, the other employees who are not included in the meeting might be disturbed as their focus will be constantly diverted to what others are discussing.

Nonetheless, these disadvantages can be mitigated easily with few measures in place. If feedbacks are requested from a random attendant then all the members will remain alert during the entire duration of the meeting. Moreover, teams that are frequently involved in meetings can be allocated separate workstations so that it does not impact other employees.

To conclude, online communications are more favoured by employees instead of physical meetings. Even though there are some disadvantages, they are greatly outweighed by the advantages and I believe with few measures the disadvantages can be minimised as well.