Money should be spent on creating new public buildings such as museums or town halls rather than renovating the existing ones.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Regarding the budget expenditure on public places, people around the globe provide their opinions to the government. Although some are in favour of new museums and town halls, I, however, believe that as long as the renovation of the existing buildings are possible, government should not waste money on the new one.

Firstly, redeveloping and preserving the ancient places often costs lesser than constructing the new one. For example, the Brazillian government had renovated many museums of their country because new public buildings usually require steep financial resources. However, renovation generally costs only 3% of the construction of new place. Moreover, by saving money from the new development, government can spend that money to facilitate their locals in many ways such as they can install air conditioning systems in the old buildings.

Another reason for renovation of existing buildings is that it has historical values. Every country has its unique history which some can find from their heritage museums and monuments. Therefore, despite having sufficient budget to construct new buildings, government prefer to preserve the historical places. Furthermore, older places usually have an emotional attachment with their local people as many of the countries have long bloodshed history and museums reminds them the sacrifices their ancestors did for freedom.

In conclusion, not only cost is a motivating factor for the preservance of existing bulidings, people usually have strong emotions attached with the historical monuments. Therefore, I believe that government should spend their money in the maintenance of the existing buildings.