More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the Coronavirus pandemic, countries all over the world had to go into lockdown to reduce the spread of the virus. This led most, if not all organizations to implement the work-from-home model. Several organizations are saying they will continue to follow a partial or full remote-work model after the pandemic due to it's time-saving nature and savings opportunities for the company itself.

On average, the time spent on commuting to and from work is anywhere between 15 mins to 3 hours. Often, people complain of a lack of time for self-care and development because so much time is spent on commuting. This problem can be easily remedied by adopting a remote-work model so that the employees are truly free to do as they please once they are off work. Additionally, commuting long distances or wading through traffic can be quite inducing for many. This can lead to lower productivity and an overall feeling of discontentment as people begin most of their days stressed out. This too, is easily solved by working from home instead of going to office every day. Another benefit of the remote-work model is a potential saving opportunity for the employers. If they adopt a 50% attendance model where only 50% or less of the workforce is in the office on any given day, they can reduce their spending on infrastructure and other related costs.

Those against the remote work policy might argue that it is difficult to supervise employees remotely. To resolve this, it is important to maintain effective communication with the employee and to provide adequate motivators to ensure that work is done in a timely manner. Effective communication can also help avoid feeling disconnected from their coworkers from working remotely for too long. This isn't a significant hindrance as advancements in technology have made it feasible to have video chats with each other as needed. Additionally, companies can adopt the afore-mentioned partial remote-work model so that certain teams can work from the office on certain days to connect better.

In conclusion, despite making it harder to monitor and supervise employees and simply connect with your coworkers better, remote work can reduce the overall stress in a person's life and give them time to for themselves while also giving the companies a chance to spend less.