More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that increasing the price of fattening foods will solve this problem.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The over consumption of unhealthy food has led to serious health problems such as overweight and obesity. Undoubtedly, this has become a matter of concern across the globe. A section of society believes in increasing the cost on fatty foods to resolve the issue; however, in my opinion other measures like availability of healthy options at lower prices and awareness campaign can help to fight to against this problem.

To begin with, increase in price should act as a barrier while purchasing for most of the citizens in the country. However, the busy lifestyle refrains the people from cooking healthy meals at home, making them more dependent on junk eatables. The expensive fast food or ready-to-eat packages serve them better; so, despite its cost the affluent and middle class would still continue buying them, which would save their time and efforts in preparing home-made meals. Only the poor strata may stop consuming it due to their financial condition. Thus, it is clear that hike in price is not a solution for majority of people in the society.

Alternatively, other measures such as promoting healthier options and making them available nationwide at low rates can actually cut the consumption of fast food. This can encourage the people to move towards better alternative as it can easily be accessible and consumed at cheap rates, serving all categories of modern society. Moreover, government initiatives to motivate people to consume healthy food can also help in alleviating the fatty food consumption. The awareness can actually make them realize the harmful effects of such eatables and can stop them from consuming; thereby, staying fit and healthy.

To sum up, I pen down saying that unhealthy food options can not be stopped by high prices but the mass population can actually stay away from its consumption if healthy options are readily available and accessible in the market. Moreover,the awareness programs can act self-motivators for people to choose healthy options that can help them to live longer, happier and healthier.