More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work.

What Will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer?

In the quest of living contemporary and wealthy life, rural people have been acculturating in metropolitan areas. So many villagers are leaving agricultural work and rush to the cities for better opportunities and job profiles. There is severe devastated consequence of this trend and solutions for these are discussed in this essay.

The hype is created by metro cities’ citizen that they are living better life than rural people in every aspect of life. Secondly, people always presume that better occupation means fat money and health lifestyle. Thus, farmers are encouraged to look for better work profiles which could be easily available in cities, but consequences of this are far more dangerous than anyone can imagine. In fact, inclination of agricultural backgrounded people toward cities are so dangerous that if this will continue for more than couple of year than arable land will be vanished in such a way that it is nearly impossible to recover that land. In other words, there will be no rural areas in near future only metro cities which can accommodate more than billions of people. For example, In China all the villagers are aiming at the one city which is Shanghai, as a result, all the rural areas within 500 miles have been minimised and accommodated as a suburb of the city. Now even though they want to resettle in their hometown they can not due to the limited fertile land.

There are many solutions for this predicament. First of all government of the respective county could avail all the facilities which is there in cities to far-flung areas. For instance, American government had taken this decision and apparently successful to stop the influx of farmers to nearby metropolitan areas. Secondly, Vertical farm is also useful utility introduced by some scientist recently where within big buildings farmers can cultivate needed agricultural products but vertically along with the skyscraper walls. For example Chinese government adopt this new solution so, those who badly want to settle in city can assimilate without loosing their profession.

To conclude, grass is always greener from the other side. Many of the farmers influenced by the hype and then repenting on their decisions on settling themselves in cities. I believe if all the basic facilities can be availed at remote areas like cities then no person with agricultural background encouraged to leave their premises. Otherwise, the days are numbered where next generation would not see villages and traditional farms.