More and more people are opting for readymade food instead of freshly cooked food. Does this practice have more advantages than disadvantages? Discuss.

It is observed in recent epoch that people have started showing preference towards instant or ready-to-eat food items which save their time and increases their convenience. There are both merits and demerits to this approach. However, I believe that drawbacks of ready food far weigh its benefits which will be explained in this essay.

To begin with, the ready-to-use food is aimed to have long shelf life and to achieve this; the item is packed with heavy preservatives. Unequivocally, excessive use of preservatives and chemicals degrade the nutritional value of the food as well as has detrimental effect on the body. Thus, the food has adverse effect on health, weakening the body in long run. For example, a recent survey result depicts that people are more obese now than in past due to increase in consumption of instant food items available in the market.

Moreover, another disadvantage of the readymade food is that it compromises on taste and preparation method. It may happen that the ingredients used are not liked by the person. As a result, it does not provide satisfaction after eating.

On the other hand, it can often be argued that it is convenient for many families. In other words, the traditional cooking method requires buying of groceries, chopping of vegetables along with time and efforts required while cooking. Unequivocally, many people do not enjoy doing it and consider conventional cooking as waste of time. Consequently, for such group of people instant food serves as a convenient option.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that although there are few benefits of readymade food but it cannot be better option because it deteriorates the health and compromises on taste. It is obvious that person should not pay high price by playing with his health just because of small convenience he gets from such food. Therefore, the disadvantages outweigh the benefits of instant food product.