More and more people use private cars instead of taking public transport. What are the reasons for this trend? How can the government encourage people to take public transport?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own kn

There are countless means of transport in many countries. Nonetheless, an increasing number of people who commute by automobiles has risen exponentially in recent times. First this essay will discuss why commuters travel by private cars rather than public transportation, and secondly will offer some suggestions to persuade citizens to use public transport frequently.

On the one hand, many people prefer commuting by vehicles because of innumerable causes. One of the primary reason is that it is considered as the most confortable way of traveling. Holidaymakers can stop at any destinastions to have break or to have lunch. When they feel tired, they can have a rest at the nearest hotel. It is also more convenient. There are not any bus and train routes in the majority of places which are on suburbs of metropolitan cities hense due to the scarcity of effecient public facilities, dwellers have to own their own vehicle. For example, a study by University of Ankara in 2018 revealed that 80% of university students commute by private cars given the fact that schedule of public bus is inconvenient for them. If it were arranged according to their needs or if there were subway systems, this rate would be less.

On the other hand, officials can take a plethora of steps to make public system widely used. To begin with, decreasing public transport fees will be an effective solution. Despite an one way ticket cost seems to fairly reasonable for many, cost of travel for a family can be quite affluent in majority of cities. For instance, after local council had decreased cost of public transport to half of it, the number of people who use it frequently increased from two million to six million. Further and more importantly, goverments can introduce laws to levy on tax for private cars and major streets in inner cities. Cost of vehicles which are cutting edge of computer technology is not afflucent consequently taxing them would decrease their sales. For example, a Mercedes car cost $100000 in Germany whereas Turkish citizen have to pay $200000 to puchase it due to high taxes rates in Turkey therefore sales of it is a hundred in average per year there.

By way of conlcusion, use of cars has become very common in today's world. Scarcity of convenient routes and unconfortable public system are two primary causes of this trend but many actions can be taken to reverse it. More subway system should be available to make public transport very popular among people.