More and more people use private cars instead of taking public transport. What are the reasons for this trend? How can the government encourage people to take public transport?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own kn

Despite use of private automobiles has detrimental effects on environment, an increasing number of people prefer commuting by them. This essay will examine reasons of this and offer suggestions to persuade citizens use public transportation facilities more.

First of all, many people commute by automobiles due to countless reasons. One of the primary reason is that owning a car demonstrates wealth of a family in majority of cases. Many people who are prosperous purchase innumerable luxurious, affluent automobiles. In many countries, it is considered that internal bus facilities are commenly used by less affluent individuals. Further and more importantly, purchasing a car does not cost a lot in many cases. Owning it in countries such as Canada and Germany is very convenient since many citizens can purchase their own vehicles with two or three months wages. For example, a study by World Forum Magazine in 2018 revealed that 95% of people in Manila where their are not any taxes on vehicles have more than two cars although there are effective subway and bus transportation systems.

Secondly, goverments can motivate people use them more by taking innumerable steps. Providing high capacity facilities can be motivational. Buses and trains can be crowded during rush hours in many urban areas which make workers unhappy and tired. If there were more seats available, commuters would have a comfortable traveling experience that is vitally important for many. Increasing number of buses and routes can also be beneficial. Many people have to spend long hours at stations to travel consequently if there were buses each ten minutes at stations, they would become the most popular way of transportation. For instance, a report by Goverment of Manila in 2017 reported that 99% of country dwellers prefer travelling by cars whereas 80% of city dwellers prefer commuting by trains and buses since there are many means of transport there.

By way of conclusion, in todays' world, travelling by automobiles is highly popular because of it's price and social value but high capacity transportation facilities and more routes can motivate people use them more.