In most parts of the world people are living longer.
What are the possible causes of this situation?
Is this a negative or positive development?
Life time expectancy has increased gradually across the world generally. This essay will discuss the probable causes
of this development and highlight how this has brought a positive change in peoples life.
To begin with, extensive study in the field of medical sciences has made it possible to understand the root causes of
common diseases. As a result, people are aware of these common diseases and vaccinate their children at a young age
against diseases such as polio and hepatitis. Furthermore, research about complex diseases including cancer and
cardiovascular diseases, cure for which was not available resulted in early deaths. Also, with the development of medical
sciences better state of the art facilities are available in health institutes, again increasing the probability to
survive longer. For example, a ventilator can keep a person alive despite failure of his breathing system.
Advancement in medical sciences has contributed positively to the society in general. As humans are probable to survive
longer, it has given a chance for mankind to take advantage of services of talented people. For example, Stephen
Hawking was diagnosed with a deadly disease very earlier in his life but the advancement in medical sciences kept him
alive for several decades. Moreover, he carried out extensive research in the field of astronomy, discovering the
other planets present in our solar system. Therefore, scientists are hopeful for humans to survive in other planets
too and conducting further research to make it possible an alternative place for future generations to live on.
In conclusion, the increase in life time expectancy is a blessing for human kind as they could be benefited by the
services of talented people in the world as well as they are themselves able to live longer.