Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences. To what extent do you agree?

The issue of breaking traffic rules has been matter of concern for people at large. It challenges the safety parameters and because of this many people opine that strict punishments can overcome this problem. While I accept this to a certain extent, I also think that other measures should be taken along with strict punishments to make our roads safer.

Undoubtedly, the strict punishments are vital to have the rules in place otherwise few people would not even bother to know the correct way of driving. In every country, the law exists to pay penalty for minor offences and suspension of driver's license for major offences. In fatal cases, the law even charge the accused person for Imprisonment. As and example, in 2004, strict law was enforced for punishing the people who drink and drive, resulting into reduced number of road accidents. This example proves that strict punishments are essential to make people follow the rules on regular basis.

Moreover, the other ways of managing the traffic parameters should not be ignored. Firstly, the driving license should be given only after scrutinizing the candidates driving skills. In some countries, the officials are bribed to issue the driver's license to the person who does not show adequate driving skills. Secondly, the administrative bodies should run the awareness campaign to motivate the citizens to follow the traffic rules religiously. Thus, the government initiatives would contribute efficiently in this area.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that only strict rules cannot be the solution to the burning problem of traffic incidents; the other measures such as awareness drives and checks on issuing of driver's license should also be followed rigorously to control the road accidents.