Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences. To what extent do you agree?

Most of the metropolitan cities face the issue of congested traffic. The careless driving and disobeying of traffic rules adds to the burning problem. A large section of society opines that person breaking the traffic regulations should be penalised heavily. I too support this view to a large extent believing that fear of punishment can only resolve this menace.

We all know that the traffic rules has its importance and should be followed obediently. However, there are people who do not care for such laws in the country. As an example, people drive bike without helmet or do not stop at the signal. Admittedly, the rules are made for the safety and proper flow of traffic but rarely some people understand. In this case, if they are fined for not wearing a helmet, next time they would make sure that they own a helmet while driving a motor-bike. Thus, legal punishment can only ascertain that mistakes are not repeated.

Secondly, traffic punishments create awareness among the people, which will guide them to drive safely and securely, without harming others as well. In this case, people would try to understand what is the correct way of driving and what could lead them to penalty. Ostensibly, such knowledge is beneficial for every individual as well as for the smooth movement of vehicles in the city. Therefore, in every case strict punishments prove better option to control the traffic.

In conclusion, I pen down saying that traffic offenses should not be ignored and strict punishment is the only solution to avoid the problems of careless driving and crowding the roads. The government should definitely frame stricter punishments for violating the traffic rules.