As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

A significant volume of time of any adult is devoted to working; in fact, an average person spends more time at a workplace than with a family; thus being contented with job one is doing is crucial for one’s well-being. Below factors that contribute to job satisfaction will be discussed in details.

To being with, one of the essential factors is whether a person perceives his job as meaningful or not. This fact was discovered by psychologists who studied productivity and figured out that perceiving the activities performed at work as useful and personally significant has an advantageous effect on the volume of work done and most importantly on the happiness of the worker. Another factor is a size of salary paid. People go to an office building or a plant to make some money and the bigger the amount of money is the more contented the person feels because the size of a pay represents how well the job was done. Moreover, the money is used to purchase goods and valuable items that increase an overall standard of living of the employee.

However, individuals have rarely their expectation met. People often base their anticipation on stories that are told by the media or articles that are published in newspapers and magazines. For instance, an accountant who reads about a fire fighter who managed to rescue someone may wish to have a job where he can be a hero. In other words, the desire is unrealistic and cannot become truth at the current workplace; thus, he gets displeased with his occupation. In the same vein, employees are rarely contented with the size of their salary. Even those who get a considerable pay which allows them to have an expensive, luxury car and a house in a decent neighborhood could be dissatisfied with the income due to their bosses make more than they. In other words, wishing something unrealistic or being envy to someone’s success deprived some working folk of feeling well about themselves.

To sum up, spending a lot of time at a workplace makes job satisfaction important for individual well-being. Finding a meaning in a job and having a large bank account contribute to being satisfied. Unfortunately, unrealistic expectations may poison people’s lives.