News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Every work has a predefined procedure from its beginning to the end. Similarly, when a news is published it is in the power of editors to filter the piece of news shown on television and the ones that will appear in newspapers. I believe there could be several factors for their choices, such as marketing and ratings. But this should not sidetrack them from promoting more good news. This essay will discuss further on these issues.

News editors published the new that has potential to attract more viewers and readers. People are always on the lookout for latest information and the channels that can provide them first receives the most attention. For example, when the news of corona virus was released everyone was focus on BBC as it releases latest updates on international news.

In addition, if the channel or newspaper can promote few products during the commercial breaks or advertisements, they become popular among the businesses as well. For instance, due to the news of corona virus spreading, people have become more aware of personal hygiene and when the channels promote that Lifebuoy will protect from germs, people buy it.

However, it is the duty of the media to not only reflect the bad news but also the good ones. Now a days, people are accustomed to hearing news of crimes, murder, illness and other social afflictions most of the time. But in spite of these situations, there are some good things happening around as well, which comes in a small section of the news. The reporters and editors should focus on them equally.

To sum up there maybe numerous factors that might influence the news that is broadcasted or printed as news but the editors must bear in mind to convey the good and bad news in equal measures.