The news media's tendency to report problems and emergencies rather than positive development is harmful to individuals and the society. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The main role of media is to provide information and news to the larger audiences, making them aware of the current situation. Media is considered to be the fourth pillar of democracy along with the judiciary, executive and legislature, shaping public opinion and strengthening of the society. Whether the problems reported by them spread negativity?.

In recent times, media is seen as widely reporting tensions and burning issues across the globe. The recent news about US-China trade war is widely discussed on various forums and has led to the downfall of stock market indexes of various countries leading to financial tensions. Recently, India had a legislative change in relation to one of their provincial state of Kashmir. The repeat telecast and widely covering this issue by news reporters, has fuelled negative emotions across the valley of Kashmir. At times, the news anchors, based on their personal opinions spew negativity and spread hatred among the masses, which is not good.

However, responsible media is essential for any nation. These agencies are overseers on miscreants and spread awareness among the people reporting their misdeeds. They are, at times, the voice of the nation demanding accountability and performances from elected office holders of the government. In case of a major natural calamity, it’s through news agencies that keep people apprised and informed about the latest information on relief and safety measures on the site of the disaster. In 2010, there was a massive cloud burst in a hilly region of Leh Ladakh in India. Thousands of foreign tourists and locals were stranded and with flash flooding, many lost their lives and property. With the help of news agency, people were abreast of rescue missions in the areas. Things resumed to normal with donations that were given by people, who were made aware of the situation by these news agencies.

Based on the aforesaid discussion, it is imperative for a news agency to keep people abreast of the latest news and information. It is the responsibility of the news agency to transmit the news meaningfully and not to instigate the masses.