Nowadays children watch too much TV. Why is this happening, and what can be done to prevent it?

It is true that TV has become the main source of entertainment these days and children spend a lot of time in front of it. This essay believes that there are various reasons behind this trend, and there are still some solutions to tackle this problem.

There are different factors contribute to the phenomenon that children spend a lot of time in front of the TV these days. Firstly, there are more obstacles for children to play outside due to the low ratio of parks in modern cities. While teenagers could play and socialize outsides with their friends at local parks before, this option is not available in large cities anymore. Thus, instead of physical activities, children are forced to stay at home and watching TV or playing video games, which have adverse impacts on the mental and physical health of children. Secondly, parents spend more time at works due the rising expectations of firms from workforces. For instance, recent figures show a huge drop in the amount of time parents spend with their families in compare to fifty years ago. Thus, instead of having a quality time with their father and mother, a child has no choice, other than watching TV.

However, there are few remedies for these challenges. Schools should be obliged to enrich their after-hours programs with various activities, such as sport, art or programming. If children spend more time with practical activities at schools, they would have less time and energy to spend in front of the TV. Parents should also take more responsibilities regarding their teenagers and spend more time at home with their family. For instance, many companies have initiated work from home program recently, which help employees to have more quality time with their families. In this way, they could more often take their children outside for physical activities or stay at home and actively participate in their children's life.

In conclusion, this essay discussed several contributors, which lead children to watch tv for long hours, while two main measures introduced in order to help with this issue.