Nowadays, companies put more emphases on social skills in the recruitment process. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's competitive world, employers are considering and giving more importance to their recruitment process. Currently, there are noticeable changes have been witnessed in choosing skill set of the candidate during the recruitment process of many companies than earlier. Many companies put emphasis and hire people with the good social skill set for the success of the organization. My inclination supports the statement which can be explained with the following possible arguments.

Looking into the current competition in every industry, companies are insisting on hiring candidates who carry social skills like communication skill, interpersonal skill to get connected with the people around them easily. Having social skills like initiating the talk and take it further can help the employee to develop official and business relations easily which does not help only to grab the more business but also to create a friendly environment in the office. Moreover, creating good relations in the office can create the healthy environment around them which is the foremost requirement of any employee to work peacefully and delivering the outcome efficiently. Last but not the least, social skills help to develop internal bonding among the employees that can help the organization to have a more long term loyal employee for the development of the organization.

On the flipside, as it is rightly said that excess of anything is a poison, the over enthusiasm in using social skills can create problems for the organization.The employee can mingle a lot which can distract them from their task and there would be delays in work. Moreover, from the employer point of view, there would be possibilities of creation of employee union that can threat management to approve their inappropriate demands. For instance, strikes in organizations are the result of excessive bonding among the team.Finally, people can get good job offers through the business relations which can result in the loss of competent employees from the system.

All in all, the benefits of social skill set outweigh the impact of it if utilized and nurtured properly. Hence, I strongly believe that for any organization to be successful in the current competitive scenario, should emphasis on hiring people with social skill sets.