Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There has been a colossal upsurge in prodigies discussing the topic of alternative methods in the healthcare system to deal with the growing number of patients. Although there is a range of debatable opinions around this statement, I personally believe this alternation can contribute substantial benefits to society. In this essay, I will give some appropriate points about this issue and draw a conclusion that whether this trend tends to be a negative or positive direction.

On the one hand, it is evident that health hazards are becoming an alarming problem due to many adverse effects of the industrialized age. Moreover, we need to find out new solutions to prevent the disease instead of splashing money for the service of medical treatments. Although checking health periodically is a good way to ensure people’s health is in a safe state, alternative medicines can support people to reduce the health risk in their daily life. To be clear, we can use functional foods or homemade meals to mitigate order to implement necessary vitamins for our bodies and stay away from the danger of illness. For instance, shifting from consuming fast food to homemade food can help us stay away from some horrendous health problems such as cardiovascular disease, diarrhea, etc, and save money for the rainy day. Furthermore, without the alternative medicines, and treatments, it cost people a bunch of time to commute to their usual doctor and these people hardly raise their awareness about the value of their health until they get sick. Obviously, searching for a new solution for securing our health can assist us in recognizing the modification in our physics and mentality.

On the other hand, alternative medicines and treatments are only useful in case we can use them in balance. In moderation, the functions of these alterations may support us to stay in optimal condition whereas overutilizing may bring far-reaching repercussions to our physical and psychological health. To be precise, if we overdose the functional foods such as vitamin C, protein powder, etc, it may cause harm to our development and metabolism process and even drive us to death. To cite an example, there are a lot of warning on the news across the globe about the side-effect of these alternative treatments and putting us in jeopardy if we don’t totally understand their origin and comprehend the elements in these medicines. Finally, if we just concentrate on the alternative methods and neglect the periodic health check, we will make our health worse instead of getting away from potential diseases.

In conclusion, everything is associated with two sides: one positive point and one negative point. It all stated that alternative medicines can be astonishingly beneficial to our health if we comprehend the instructions from medical professionals and utilize them in the recommended way. I wholeheartedly believe that the merits we can earn from these supporting treatments outweigh their demerits.