Nowadays international tourism is the biggest industry worldwide. Unfortunately, sometimes it creates tension between people from different cultures, instead of better understanding. Why do you think it is happening and how can it be improved?

Although the tourism industry has become the central part of the economy worldwide, there are cases that it raises tensions and difficulties among different nationalities and groups. This essay believes that there are two main factors that contribute to this challenge, while there are viable solutions to tackle this issue.

The main sources of conflicts, which are raised due to international tourism, are both tourists and hosts. On the one hand, some travelers do no obey the local rules and instructions of a place. For instance, Muslim countries have strict rules regarding alcohol and hijab, and by not following these instructions, tourists might get into trouble, leading to tensions between countries in order to release the traveler. On the other hand, local corrupted groups use tourists to follow their own political, social or religious agendas. There are examples in the Middle East or Africa, in which local gangs arrest western travelers in order to negotiate their requests from international authorities. These problems have a tremendous impact on local and international tourism in recent years.

However, authorities could still be effective in order to decrease these tensions by taking different initiatives. Firstly, there should be more awareness programs for international tourists in order to make them aware of the local rules. Travelers would take benefit from following these rules since, not only there would be fewer problems with locals, but also, they would enjoy their journey by experiencing the life of local people. Secondly, countries, who host tourists, should take more responsibility in protecting travelers. If they allocate more money and resources to enhance the security of these trips, more tourists would travel there, leading to the development of local businesses.

In conclusion, there are different factors contributing to growing tensions, which originated from international tourism, while two main solutions are provided to solve these challenges.