Nowadays it is possible to use computers and mobile phones for automatic language translation, and there is no need for human translators and interpreters. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

During the past decade, the world software developers have created a lot of program software which allow to translate from one language into another. Some people say that these programs can supersede human translators and there is no need to pay money for translational services. I totally disagree with this statement, as I strongly believe that human factor in dispensable in this case and a machine can’t understand all text’s meaning.

The first electronic translator was created more than 20 years ago. It had limited database, which contained most popular words of different languages. This program instantly became very popular and developers decided to increase the database of the words until and, finally, took decision to allow the program translation of the two or more words. Thus, contemporary translators are able to translate the immense texts for few seconds. These translators found a good use among children at school and students.

However, people who know a foreign language well can notice that the quality or translations is very low. The translated text that computer or smartphone threw out is unacceptable. There are lots of grammar mistakes, words could be chosen randomly, even the chunk of text could be left untranslated. Why these problems are happening?

The matter is that, our electronic devices don’t have a human intelligence and work using an algorithm, which has been done for it. The computer software has only the list of words, it can’t understand where is a particular word is more suitable. Moreover, the word’s sequence could be different in variety of languages. To give a clear example, I once tried to translate from Russian into English the whole text, when I was studying at school. I showed the text to my tutor and she was shocked by sentence structure in the text. She decided that I didn’t know English at all. After this negative experience, I decided to use the translators only as vocabulary.

In conclusion, I disagree that contemporary translation software can supersede the human interprets. Despite the level of the technological progress, automatic programs are possible to use only as the vocabularies to single word translation.