Nowadays, most large companies operate multi-nationally. To what extent those companies should have a responsibility towards local communities in which they operate?

Growing number of international firms have started businesses around the globe in the current era. These companies are evidently generating an enormous amount of revenue, however, their contribution towards native people is also significant.

Owing to ease in business rules and regulations, a vast majority of renowned companies have started their operations throughout the world, especially in developing countries where labor is relatively cheap. On the one hand, these corporations are fueling economy by bringing mammoth foreign exchange in these countries, on the other hand, money they pay in terms of tax also has a positive impact on lives of indigenous groups.

Nevertheless, I believe these firms have an additional role to play and it is their duty to serve society in which they run businesses. Firstly, multi-national companies can allocate the specific amount of seats or job quota for local people so that it could provide them a chance to work in reputable corporations. Furthermore, benefits which they offer could result in enhancing the life style of local communities. In addition to that, education centers can be established to teach unfortunate members of society so that they can serve their country in a much better way. Moreover, enterprises can also apportion a certain amount of funds for the health sector. For instance, Microsoft’s fully funded ‘Eradicate Polio’ program has attributed towards eliminating Polio throughout South East Asia within ten years. Similarly, international companies can help in curtailing diseases which are harmful and life threatening.

To recapitulate, governments can take various advantages from organizations operating in their countries in terms of taxes and shares. Having said that, these companies also have a responsibility to provide folks with aid in job, education and health sector.