Nowadays people prefer to shop in large supermarkets rather than nearby local shops. Why do you think this happens? Is this positive or a negative trend?

People are more likely shopping in big supermarkets rather that community stores close to them. I am unsure how the above trend happened and it is advantages or disadvantages, and will, therefore, examine that in this essay and share my personal examples and give an opinion.

It is hard for local stores to satisfied people’s high demand in a fast-paced society. In this explosion contemporary society, people received a variety of information to influence them such as promotion news or message of a supermarket, not only the price but also the everyday event. For instance, the cashier gave me a card after I check out in a supermarket. I could collect points online use the promotion code on that card. Once you fill the online form, you will have a chance to win a brand new car. The local shop cannot afford this type of promotion without any financial support as if the supermarket. Another significant argument in favor is the supermarkets build in huge shopping mall normally. It will provide a wide range of facilities for family or individuals. People are enjoying and relax to shop there.

I tend to agree this is a disadvantage because it is no benefits for our community and people. If people were going to large supermarkets frequently, it would be no chance for local shops to survive. People could use less time to socialize in the community. Furthermore, drive incredibly far to purchase products is the only choice for us. For example, I did not have enough salt to cook my dinner so I have to drive around half an hour to get that from supermarkets.

To sum up, it is hard for a local shop to survive nowadays but people still need the local shop for a justification.