Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

It is true that, most of the countries are adopting electronic transactions, which helps government to keep track on illegal payments. Although most of them are encouraging plastic money but some people prefer carrying cash. In this essay, we will discuss the pros and cons with regards to the popularity of plastic money over the bank notes.

Firstly, carrying the transactions through digitally is much more convenient. For example, utility invoice can be paid within few minutes at his/her convenient than standing in queue for longer time and settling bills by cash. In Asian countries, some company provides cash back offers to the customers, who use their service for making online transactions, so that more and more people could avail the service. Secondly, magnificent advantage of using credit card is, Bank approves certain credit limit to the customers and those who are using credit card, can repay the amount, if used, after the statement is generated. Lastly, carrying hard cash in bulk could be an invitation to the thefts.

On the contrary, Using plastic money could be useful, but still in some places, the digitalization has not been seen. There are some vendors, who prefer doing business by using hard cash over to the online transactions. For availing the online transaction service, people have to pay certain amount of fees to the government, which could be a loss of money to small businessman. Doing online transactions might be a convenient way but there are some cases which have been observed recently, which could make the people bankrupt just by using the card number and CVV number imprinted on the card.

To sum up, “Each coin has its two sides”. There is an increase in popularity for plastic money over the banknotes and coins but till today, some people prefer doing the transactions through cash due to security reasons.