Nowadays, some buildings such as offices and schools have open-space design instead of separate rooms. Why is it so? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this recent modern world, we are able to see the drastic changes everywhere. In the same way, majority of offices and schools are built with open-space floor plan in their premises rather than having individual cabinet rooms. Although, this idea is to be invited because of its pros, does it have its other side. In this essay, I will explain pros and cons of such development and give my opinion about it.

First and foremost reason why these open floor plans are mostly preferred by the organisations and institutions is its cost effective. The huge cost is involved in constructing separate cabinets and in a open design, only the furniture are to be installed. This furnishing works will incur only the less expenses. Furthermore, such a structure at offices will eliminate the discrimination of staff members. All the staff members irrespective of of their grades, should sit together at the same place. This arrangement will also make it easy to get interaction with others and help to find a place for a new comer who joins in the office.

On the other hand, there are some unlikely effects in this kind of seating arrangement. Since all are sitting in a close manner, a staff might feel that he/ she is being watched by others and need some privacy. Moreover, this lack of privacy creates stress and anxiety and in result will be reflected at their works. They are neither active nor productive at works and other activities. In addition, this sort of seating has the possibility of spreading any contagious diseases among the staff members.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that these open-space designs have its positive and negative sides equally. Whether to take it on a positive or negative side, completely depending on a position where the viewer is. In my words, it has both.